0 Menu


$19.99 / Sold Out

As the bassist and primary songwriter for Brinsley Schwarz, Nick Lowe was one of the catalysts of the pub rock phenomenon in the early 1970s. As the co-founder and house producer at Stiff Records, he would help create the blueprint for the modern indie rock label and usher in British punk and new wave, helming historic recordings for The Damned, Elvis Costello, and The Pretenders. Here, his landmark second solo album Labour of Lust gets the deluxe reissue treatment, sporting an expanded 12pg. booklet with period photos, new essays and artwork by groundbreaking graphic artist Barney Bubbles. The reissue also includes Nick's biggest US hit ''Cruel To Be Kind,'' the originally U.K.-only ''Endless Grey Ribbon'' and U.S.-only ''American Squirm'' plus bonus B-side ''Basing Street.'' LOL is the only of Lowe's solo albums to hold the distinction of featuring Nick's Rockpile cohorts Dave Edmunds, Billy Bremner and Terry Williams on every track. Originally released in 1979 and out of print for nearly twenty years, the album has been remastered from the original source, reintroducing this masterpiece to a new generation of pop music obsessives.

1. Cruel To Be Kind

2. Cracking Up

3. Big Kick, Plain Scrap

4. American Squirm

5. Born Fighter

6. You Make Me

7. Skin Deep

8. Switchboard Susan

9. Endless Grey Ribbon

10. Without Love

11. Dose Of You

12. Love So Fine

13. Basing Street (Bonus Track)